Svalbard – the wild North

Svalbard 001The first snow

Even if Svalbard is a remote place, situated between the Norwegian mainland and the North Pole, it is really easy to go there. From Oslo you fly either direct or via Tromsö to the Longyearbyen Airport. The flight takes between 3-4 hours. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Svalbard

When you arrive, you immediately feel that this area is totally different to other places in Norway or Scandinavia. Surprisingly you hear all kind of languages when you walk on the shopping street and it is not tourists. It is people that come from all over the world to work and live here. The University is well known and has a good reputation. The city is “young”. Even if I feel that I am at the end of the world, I hear loud dance music from the bar next door. It is Friday evening and the night just started.

Since my day started early, I will go to bed now. I really enjoy my cozy room at Basecamp, Trapper’s Hotel.
Svalbard 004
Svalbard 003

I am looking forward to tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

